Strahl Wins Chilliwack


October 22, 2019 at 4:06 am - Home, MyChilliwackNews
By MyChilliwackNews Editor

Voters in the riding of Chilliwack – Hope are sending veteran Conservative Party of Canada M.P. Mark Strahl back to the House of Commons.  Strahl won the riding easily 26,477 votes.  Liberal Kelly Velonis was second, 10,735 votes behind. 

The NDP’s Heather McQuillan was third. She was just 8,868 votes behind Velonis.  The Green Party’s Arthur Green was a distant fourth. The remaining three candidates failed to muster together more than 2,000 votes combined.

Conservative candidates also won neighbouring ridings in Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola, Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon, Abbotsford, Langley-Aldergrove, and Pitt Meadows-Maple Ridge.

This is Strahl’s third election victory, having won in 2015 and initially in 2011 in the old Chilliwack – Fraser Canyon riding.  He served as the Parliament Whip for the Conservative opposition at the time of dissolution.

Votes     Candidate

26,477    Mark Strahl – CON

10,735   Kelly Velonis – LIB

8,868    Heather McQuillan – NDP

5168    Arthur Green – GRN

1,744    Rob Bogunovic – PPC

209    Daniel Lamache – CHP

71    Dorothy-Jean O’Donnell – ML

195 of 196 polls reporting


Trudeau Liberals Win Minority Government

Justin Trudeau can thank Ontario and specifically Toronto voters, for returning the Liberals to power in Ottawa, albeit as a minority government.  The Liberals captured nearly every Toronto area riding, to finish Canada’s 43rd General Election with more than 150 seats.  However, with no Liberal seats from west of Winnipeg to Port Coquitlam, Trudeau failed to win a majority government.

Andrew Scheer’s Conservative party won more than 120 seats and will act as the Opposition party in Ottawa despite winning the national popular vote by more than one percentage point. 

Despite falling from 39 seats to 24 seats in the election, the NDP will likely hold the balance of power in the House of Commons.  NDP leader Jagmeet Singh, who won his seat in Burnaby South, has said minority governments are good and has presented Pharmacare and dental care programs as key platform issues through the campaign.

As of late Monday night in British Columbia, the Conservatives were elected or leading in 17 seats, the NDP 11, and the Liberals 11.  Green Party leader Elizabeth May was returned in Saanich-Gulf Islands and is one of two Green Party candidates to win seats in BC.  The lone remaining B.C. seat went to independent Jody Wilson-Raybould in Vancouver Granville. 



  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement